“This world is but a canvas to our imagination.”

I don’t profess to know much about art and probably what I do know you could put on the back of a postage stamp. In any case though, should it matter? Isn’t artistic taste subjective? As Henry David Thoreau said in the quotation above. I do know what I like however and one of my favourite artists is Paul Gauguin. I do not think I possess the words to describe exactly how I feel when I see his paintings but there is something about the colours and technique he uses that I find inspirational and uplifting.

As someone said, a picture is worth a thousand words, so let Gauguin speak for himself. Here are some of my personal favourites:

So vibrant and colourful it really warms my soul to look at such beauty. A wonderful variety of different subjects demonstrating a rare versatility. I hope like me, you will find an escape in Gauguin’s perception of reality.

I’ll end this little piece with a portrait of the man himself:

23696763530_c85ecc5449_b

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

